Things I’m Bad At

We all have talents, I like to think that I have many. However, there is an infinite number of things that I am NOT good at. It’s okay. I’ve accepted it. I don’t need to be good at everything. In all honesty, I’m too lazy to even try and be good at everything. I don’t really understand those people who refuse to accept defeat, it is okay to suck sometimes!

So, who are these people that haven’t accepted that they can’t be exceptional at everything? These are the people that freak out over anything less than an ‘A’ average. These are also those pompous ass-hats who THINK they’re good at everything, but what they don’t realize is that what needs improvement is their social skills. If you are one of these people, please stop. Life is a lot easier once you make the realization. It frees you up to do the things you enjoy and that you ARE good at. It also gives us a subtle reminder of the humility we need, more often than we are willing to admit.

Admitting that you can’t be good at everything is the first step. The next step is pin pointing what you are good at. For instance, I’m really good at bossing people around, fishtailing my hair, procrastinating, and making memes. Now, this is all good and well but we can’t let the things we are good at go to our heads. In order to remain humble and modest, we can’t forget what we’re bad at. Realizing what you’re bad at, makes you not only appreciate the things you are good at, but it also makes you appreciate those who are good at those things you suck at. I decided to list out some of the thing that I am bad at. I think it will feel good, and maybe you can relate.

MATH: I suck at math, I hate math and math hates me. I know, I know “I need math”, “you use math everyday”. Well let me tell you, the only math I care about is percentages, you know I got to know the new prices on that 20% off clearance rack at Target.

SITTING LIKE A “LADY”: It’s exhausting always having my legs crossed, and who cares if I sit crisscross-applesauce while in a dress? I’m just trying to be comfortable.

SHOWING AFFECTION: I’m really not a touchy-feely person. I can usually be found scowling when people (including friends and family) hug or show emotions. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not completely cold-hearted. Occasionally I feel the need to give affection but it is usually short-lived.

FINISHING THINGS: For some reason I just can’t…

FALLING FOR PEOPLE: This is potentially grounds for a whole other post. But, long story short, I always pick the wrong people to have a crush on. They’re either a jerk, one of my best friends, or they don’t know I exist. And again, I really don’t like feelings in general.

SAVORING: Whether it be food, or a moment, I never let it last and I always end up regretting it.

I know there are many, MANY things I missed, but this is what I have for now. I hope that you can understand, or that you can relate, or, at the very least, that you don’t judge me.

~Probably Cliché.

Leave a Reply

